Month: December 2012

  • Friday Shake Up

    Woke up today to some more rain, sleet, snail, slush.  The kids are all suffering a cold to varying degrees.  Skyler earned the right to see a doctor when he was coughing up gunk, but the doctor says his chest is clear and sent him home with cold medicine.  I having been trying to stave off colds be giving the kids chances to get extra rest and well hydrated.  They have been getting the hot yuzu and hot ginger honey treatment.  Hopefully nothing amounts to more than a simple cold.  I have been having a headache today, as well, but I am pretty sure it stems from the feeling that my neck is strained.  Between the weather being so nasty and wanting to make sure I don't get stranded in another city for the night, the coldish kids, and my neck strain related headache, I decided to skip orchestra rehearsal tonight.

    While I was making dinner, I let the kids watch NHK (the play educational kids' programs while I make dinner).  I heard Tomo carrying on about something, and he sounded genuinely worried, so I went into the living room to see what the problem was.  The early earthquake warning system came on the TV.  I saw that there was a quake on the other side of the island.  I told him that it was too far away and that we probably wouldn't feel it.  Right on cue.... we started shaking.  I knew it was pretty far away, so I wasn't overly concerned at least not for us.  I was in the middle of popping popcorn for a movie tonight when the quake struck.  I went back to the kitchen and continued keeping an eye on the popcorn.  We pop our popcorn in a big kettle on our stove.

    But we kept shaking.  We shook for quite a bit, but the general feeling of those in the house was that it was not anything we needed to worry about.  Of course, Corey and I know that if it feels pretty decent sized where we are that it has to be pretty big at the epicenter.  This one turned out to be a 7.3 on the Richter scale and quite a ways out in the ocean.  It did hit in the same general area at the March 11, 2011 quake.  Although, it is still a far cry from the magnitude 9 from that fateful day, it was still enough to raise concerns about tsunamis along the coast.  People evacuated to safety.  I think the largest tsunami measurement measured in at 1m (about 3 feet) tonight.  I do not know of any damage or personal injuries as of yet.  I have heard that there were maybe some fires started due to the quake, but I have not heard of any confirmed news on this yet.   There are also reports that nothing new has cropped up the Fukushima Nuclear Reactor plants.  That is good.  The earthquake was felt as a shindo 5 over in some areas of Tohoku.  We felt it as a shindo 3 in our area.  We have a mountain range between here and there that helped to buffer some of the shaking here.  Shindo doesn't measure the magnitude of the quake at the epicenter, but rather the intensity of shaking it causes in other places away from the epicenter.

    Do pray for the people of Tohoku.  I have friends there and the general consensus there is that people are fearful and worried  They people there have been through so much in the past, nearly, two years.

  • Weather woes

    Not much to say today.  It was just a day of schooling all around.   The weather has continued its yuckyness.  More hail, enough to cover our yard in a layer, and tons more rain.  We've had so much pea sized hail in the last 24 hours or so, it is almost ridiculous.  The thunder and lightening comes and goes.  Not really the kind of weather you want to be out and about in, but you find a way to manage.  Not really the sort of weather that inspires motivation. Seems like the weather in being so damp, is trying to inspire colds in some of the people in this house.  Definitely an Eeyore sort of day.

  • Jamming and Rocking

    Phew.  Got quite a lot done today.  After receiving 7 pounds of kiwi maybe three weeks ago, I finally managed to get half of it made into jam.  The neighbor told us to eat them quickly, but I found that the kiwis not anywhere near ready for consumption.  I even had them in a paper sack trying to hurry the process along.  I also needed to get a few canning materials, so I could preserve the extra.  Both the gathering supplies and the ripening of the kiwis seemed to coincide quite nicely, and today I turned kiwis into kiwi jam.  I have never made a jam before, so this was bit of a learning experience.  Odd that kiwi would be my first fruit.

    Managed to get a blueberry coffee cake loaf baked, and hopefully it will be good tomorrow at breakfast.  The loaf decided to try to go awol from the bread pan for some reason or another and looks a little charred on top.  Hmm... Guess I was distracted while baking that.  I was busy asking Skyler some science questions to review his science lesson today.  Ironically enough one of the questions was about chemical reactions in baking.  Suppose I should have remembered to check a few times during the baking process.

    I now have a new rack in my kitchen.  It sits in the wide area of the window.  The rack allows everything to be off the ledge/counter area in front of the window.  Words are escaping me here as to what to call the wide area in front of the window....not a bay window or window seat or anything like that, but I digress.  With moisture in this country like CrAzY, I was having a horrendous time trying to keep that area clean from moisture, dirt, mold, oil, and general kitchen grime.  The racks lifts things off the counter and allows me to very easily clean underneath.  Even though I know I am not explaining it clearly, I am very happy with the new rack.

    Rainy here and a bit stormy.  Seems like at least once a week now we are getting this storms that rattle the house.  Wind pressure.  Wonder if Tomo will have a bloody nose at some point in the night.  We are getting hail and heavy rains and a few errant lightening bolts that rocks the whole house and rattles all the individuals living in the house.  Winter is coming.  BUT hopefully the rain will start to subside, because all the rain lately would equal amounts of snow that I don't care to think about.  

  • The after the weekend blues

    Had a fun weekend.  Seemed like the weekend was about gathering up materials, preparing for, or having the event held at ECS yesterday.  We had a good group of kids.  We made decorations, decorated for Christmas, and ate yummy foods.  It was a nice time.  The highlight I think was when the icicle lights were hung and we cut off the overhead lights and just sat drinking in the soft glow of the icicle lights.  Literally.  Enjoying hot cocoa, hot apple cider, and brownies. We got in home late, as in past the kids bedtimes.  We hurried them all to bed, but waking up this morning was hard.  

    Finally got my shopping list ready for the week.  I did have the menu already in place more than a week ago.  I just hadn't gotten around to getting the list ready to go.  Now I need to polish off some school plans.  I am trying to change some things around a bit in order to help one of my kiddos do a better job in timeliness.  It may be that we are honing into something that may really work.  Here's hoping.

  • Change of scenery

    First I just wanted to wish my parents a very happy anniversary!  I am so thankful for the example of love and commitment that they set for my younger brother and me.

    Today is December 1st.  Today my decided that that must be some sort of magical switch, because the scene around us went from fall to winter all today.  Tomo was all excited about the snow he saw falling this morning.  I kept telling him that it wont stick because the ground is too warm and it was too early in the day that the temperatures would get a little warmer.  Corey told him that the first snow isn't very much.  Low and behold, the temperatures got colder and the snow actually managed to accumulate quite a bit.

    The mountains were the most dramatic change for me.  They went to their fading brilliance of fall to all neatly covered in white.  As we returned home from our errands this afternoon, it was quite a spectacular sight.

    Winter is here.